Spoiled Milk

Standard

The pure milk of God’s Word is curdled when

“So clean house! Make a clean sweep of malice and pretense, envy and hurtful talk. You’ve had a taste of God. Now, like infants, drink deep of God’s pure kindness. Then you’ll grow up mature and whole in God.” I Peter 2:1-3 (The Message)

  • hate is added
  • self stirs itself in
  • fears jump in unrestrained.

When we drink this cup . . . the nourishment is spoiled.

  • We retch.
  • Thinking God has failed us.

And yet – NO.

  • It is the additives.
  • They are the poison we added.
  • We let them slip in without conscious thought.
Take a fresh glass of God’s milk . . . Guard it.
  • Keep it additive-free.
  • Let its nourishment strengthen your spiritual bones.

This prose was inspired by I Peter 2: 1-3: So get rid of all evil behavior. Be done with all deceit, hypocrisy, jealousy, and all unkind speech.  Like newborn babies, you must crave pure spiritual milk so that you will grow into a full experience of salvation. Cry out for this nourishment, now that you have had a taste of the Lord’s kindness.

Your Turn . . .

  • What “additives” of hate, selfishness, and fear do you need to root out of your thinking and behaviors?
  • What blaming thoughts of God do you automatically think when life is “spoiled”? What true thoughts can you replace them with?

I wrote this post (#3) for the 28-Day Blog Challenge for Authors.

About susan2009

I am a 58 year old female who just finished her BA in Theology/Christian Leadership. I was on the 30 year plan. I finally graduated seminary (2009)! . . . . I have two marvelous adult children that I am very proud of. . . . I have the extreme privilege of attending and working for the best church in No. CA. . . . I became a Christian 3 days before my 16th birthday. 35 years later I'm still growing. . . . AND . . . I'm going on a "God hunt;" will you join me? After all, how can I resist the One who calls ME daughter?

Leave a Reply

